REQUEST FOR BOARD ACTION

HENDERSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

MEETING DATE: February 16, 2005

SUBJECT:Apple Country Greenways CommissionAnnual Report

ATTACHMENTS: Yes

SUMMARY OF REQUEST:

Attached is the Annual Report from the Apple Country Greenways Commission. No action is required.

Apple Country Greenway Commission

P.O Box 1670, Hendersonville, N.C. 28793

Henderson County

Hendersonville

Fletcher

Laurel Park

Flat Rock

TO: Village of Flat Rock Town of Fletcher County of Henderson City of Hendersonville Town of Laurel Park

FROM: John D. Antrim, Chairman, Apple Country Greenway Commission

DATE: February 1, 2005

RE: Apple Country Greenway Commission Annual Report for 2004

Attached is the ACGC <u>ANNUAL REPORT FOR 2004</u>. This report is being submitted as specified in the Interlocal Agreement.

Worth noting for 2004 were the completion of the construction of Phase One of the Oklawaha Greenway, no damage to the greenway due to the flooding caused by hurricanes Frances and Ivan, and a well attended Phase One dedication ceremony in October.

Our major goal for 2005 is to participate in a November 2005 regional greenway conference which will be held in Asheville. Participation will allow exchange of experiences and successes with others in Western North Carolina that have constructed or will be constructing greenways.

The Commission will be requesting that each of you include in your FY 2005-2006 budgets a small financial contribution to the Commission's operating budget. The Commission will be making the request because it will not have enough in its operating expenses account to properly operate in 2006

APPLE COUNTRY GREENWAY COMMISSION

ANNUAL REPORT FOR 2004

During the year 2004 the Apple Country Greenway Commission:

- arranged a successful dedication ceremony for Phase One of the Oklawaha Greenway. The ceremony was held on October 16 and was attended by some 170 adults and children,
- saw the design of Phase One of the Oklawaha Greenway prove adequate to withstand the destructive forces of the hurricane remnants that caused considerable damage in Henderson County,
- provided greenway concerns to the NCDOT planner-in-charge for the Henderson County Transportation Plan, and
- · saw a significant number of new appointees to the Commission.

No funding for greenway construction was sought during 2004.

The significant Commission effort during 2004 was the planning for and the conducting of the dedication ceremony for the Oklawaha Greenway Phase One.

The Commission has adopted a budget of \$1,000.00 for the calendar year 2005 and it will be requesting funding from its five sponsoring government units since its operating fund will be essentially nonexistent at the start of 2006.

The 2005 goals of the Commission are to (1) evaluate the use of the Oklawaha Greenway Phase One, (2) work with the City of Hendersonville to identify sources of funding to construct Oklawaha Greenway Phase Two (Seventh Avenue East to Patton Park), (3) seek the assistance of the five sponsoring government units in identifying several potential greenway projects, and (4) actively participate in a Western North Carolina greenway conference to be held in Asheville in mid November, 2005

Attached to this report is the Commission roster as of February 1, 2005 and the Commission budget for 2005.

APPLE COUNTRY GREENWAY COMMISSION

Adopted Calendar Year 2005 Operating Budget

Income	 \$0.00
Expenses	 \$1,000.00

PR\$200.00
Website\$400.00
Post Office Box Rental \$ 60.00
Contingencies
Travel \$300.00

APPLE COUNTRY GREENWAY COMMISSION

2005 ROSTER

February 1, 2005 Version

Village of Flat Rock Appointed Commissioners

- Barbara W. Jeter appointed November 2002. Current term ends November 30, 2005 e-mail address: jeterjb1@msn.com
- Charles C. Ray appointed March 2003. Current term ends November 30, 2007 e-mail address: <u>ccrav@aol.com</u>

Town of Fletcher Appointed Commissioners

- Eugene B. Avergon appointed June 2001. Current term ends October, 2005 e-mail address: <u>avergon@bellsouth.net</u>
- Peter B. Hemans appointed May 2004. Current term ends October, 2006 e-mail address: <u>peterh@blueridge.edu</u>
- Heather N. Taylor -appointed June 2004. Current term ends October, 2007 e-mail address: <u>h.taylor@fletchernc.org</u>

Town of Laurel Park Appointed Commissioners

- Donald C. Giersch appointed November 1999. Current term ends December 31, 2005 e-mail address: janod@ioa.com
- Sue Maynard appointed April 2003. Current term ends December 31, 2006 e-mail address: <u>suziewoman2003@yahoo.com</u>
- James E. Stockman appointed August 2003. Current term ends December 31, 2007 e-mail address: jimsuzie@mchsi.com

County of Henderson Appointed Commissioners

- John D. Antrim appointed October 2001. Current term ends December 1, 2005 e-mail address: <u>iohndantr@mchsi.com</u>
- Helen A. Coletti appointed December 2004. Current term ends December 1, 2007 e-mail address: <u>coletti@brinet.com</u>
- Barbara (Babs) T. Kuykendall appointed Feb. 2004. Current term expires Dec. 1, 2006 e-mail address: <u>babsk@bellsouth.net</u>

City of Hendersonville Appointed Commissioners

- Thomas J. Davis appointed June 2004. Current term ends October 31, 2005 e-mail address: <u>tnjdavis@mchsi.com</u>
- Wendy J. Frost appointed October 2002. Current term ends October 31, 2007 e-mail address: <u>wdyer@bellsouth.net</u>
- * * *

Executive Committee

Commission Chair: John Antrim Commission Vice-Chair: Sue Maynard Commission Secretary-Treasurer: Don Giersch Planning and Standards Committee Chair: *** Public Relations and Education Committee Chair: *** Resource Development Committee Chair: ***

*** indicates a vacant position at this point in time